Stargazing: a finished sky

From its humble many-pieced beginnings all over my table in February: 

Stargazing has now grown into a fully-fledged quilt.
back and front of Stargazer
With a so-happy binding:
Stripy binding

and little hand-detailing:
perle cotton is wonderful
It rather likes the thought of keeping a lap warm, after having had its crinklification wash:
snuggly Stargazer
but it’s still all about the contrast.
back of Stargazer
Quite happy to hang out against a wall:
Finished Stargazer
The yellow back still lets the light shine through. Shine on, little Sun-lit stars.
glowing Stargazer

I discussed the fabrics here.

{Sew} Modern Monday at Canoe Ridge Creations

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. I really like the quilt. Great colors and awesome quilting!

    Reply
  2. Phoebe

     /  May 1, 2012

    This is FANTASTIC. Love love love it.

    Reply
  3. Oh this is so lovely! What a gorgeous little quilt! Great colours :)

    Reply
  4. The sunlit star picture is really cool…I’ve never thought about putting together a quilt so that it looks different when light comes in the back. I wonder what some good applications would be for such a thing…

    Reply
  5. I love this so much! The embroidery is such an amazing touch, too :-)

    Reply
  6. Love all those warm stars on the grey background…and the ‘missing’ stars in the middle :)

    Reply
  7. How did I find your blog: I don’t know. I just wanted to say that I love this quilt!!

    Reply
  8. Such a fun quilt! I love the placement, and colors. I started my own sparkle quilt which reminds me of this. Love! :)

    Reply
  9. ylmommyx4

     /  June 15, 2012

    love this and the quilting is great

    Reply
  10. Really beautiful! I especially love the quilting and the binding. Great work!

    Reply
  11. Love how your quilting design show up so well on the back.

    Reply
  12. The unique layout is really fun – like stars scattered in the sky. Very pretty.

    Reply
  13. Hi! Your quilt is so beautiful! Wonderful colours and stars are so great!

    Reply
  14. Beautiful. Love the colorways and the prints used for the stars!

    Reply
  15. dezertsuz

     /  June 21, 2012

    Very lovely quilt. And a finalist, that’s cool! Love the bright, warm star colors.

    Reply
  1. frost creeps into every cranny « Piecing Light

It's so nice to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

