{wip} wednesday: many works

This week has seen the happy finish of Turquoise delights, which I wrote about earlier this week:
turquoise delights: orbits quilting

the quilting is to make it a happy two-sided quilt if need be.
turquoise delights: orbits quilting on the back

It is large enough that it can snuggle on a couch, but it will spend time as a baby quilt, so will probably see the floor quite often. Off it has gone in the post to its new home far over the sea in Boston.
turquoise delights snuggles on the sofa

There has also been the Stash Bee block for July, a Stained block to be in bright colours:
Stash Bee July

and a little bit of stashing. Some lovely Ink and Spindle linen for a laptop/messenger bag I want to start soon:
Soon to be a bag

and an Auntie Cookie print for the flap of the bag:
white and gold, wood and possum

The rest of this week has been basting the winter sunrise quilt. Trying closer basting, pins all <3" separation, to see if I can avoid wrinkling in the finished quilt. Now all done and ready for quilting with some lovely variegated King Tut in the next few days. Once I decide on how to quilt it!
solstice sunrise gets its basting

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. And Australian buttons!! Too cute!

    Reply
  2. I love the quilting you did on Turquoise Delights!

    Reply
  3. I love the quilting you did on turqouise delights – was that done by FMQ or on a longarm? The consistency of your concentric circles is stunning. And I love the colors in winter sunrise – sounds like it will be a very neat quilt!

    Reply
    • Thank you! It was by me on my little home machine – I marked lines with a water-soluble pen. Hold string (could tie it to a basting pin) at centre of circle, tie other end to pen, gently draw an arc.

      Reply
  4. I love the quilting on the Turquoise Delights, I have a yop that I was not sure how to quilt, I think this would be perfect.

    Reply
  5. Love the bright colors of the stained block, and that linen is going to make such a neat bag. You are busy! Thanks for linking up to WIP Wednesday!

    Reply
  6. A two sided quilt! Fabulous idea! and I love how the two sides are so different – makes it very versatile.

    Reply
  7. I love the space fabric! I like how it gives the quilt two very different looks. Haven’t started on my stained glass block yet.

    Reply
  8. I love your Turquoise Delights quilt and the quilting is beautiful! I love to see all of the pretty designs that can be made on a home machine.

    Reply
  1. Nearly Quilting « Diannajessie

It's so nice to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

