fire-flowers quilt-in-progress

This one has been quite a tricky one for me.

I started with great bravado with the idea of an abstracted garden filled with hot, vibrant warm-palette flowers. Out came the fabrics, and onto the backing fabric went the scraps to applique:

But then I just couldn’t get the picture to gel in my head of how it was supposed to be when finished. My other abstracted quilt (soon to appear, once bound) had a clear, crisp image for me right from the get-go.  I know I want to feature the  large open red-and-orange asters, but they may be too concrete for the rest of the piece. Perhaps applique held together by feature quilting of flower-outlines on the black background in fire-coloured hand-quilted threads. I keep harvesting images, and I’ll sit back down with it soon…perhaps after its substitute quilt is done!
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. To my untrained eye it looks fabulous! I will pop back and see how it is progressig!

    Reply
  2. Would love to see your other one! Maybe share on a friday at tgiffriday.blogspot.com, or host one for us?

    Reply
  3. Good luck, everyone has a different process. I would just dive in with the fabrics and see where they took me, I look forward to seeing what you decide to do.

    Reply
  4. can’t wait to see what this turns into, love your choices!

    Reply
  5. I love your thought process. Its so honest and so true many many times with me too.

    Reply
  6. I hate when I have an idea and just can’t get the plan together! I really love the fabrics you’ve pulled for it, that’s a start!

    Reply
  7. Looks great so far! So many ideas, hey?

    Reply
  8. Looks interesting and difficult. I’m looking forward to see how you finish it.

    Reply
  9. Wow, what imagination! I can’t wait to see what your abstract quilt will look like, nicely done on the color choices too!

    Reply
  10. Good luck with transfering your vision into a quilt! I’m sure you’ll get there!

    Reply
  11. Wow, I can’t wait to see where you go from here. The fabric choices are spot on.

    Reply
  12. Love the colors, good luck deciding. I find that to be the hardest part!

    Reply
  13. I do know what you mean about having a clear idea from the start or not. But hopefully after a small time away the thought will come to you!

    Reply
  14. perhaps you need to step back and take a few days, come back to it and the picture will pop into your head

    Reply
  15. I’ll be checking back to see what you create

    Reply
  16. applique is something I have to learn how to do.

    Reply
  17. This will be a fun project to watch unfold. Such rich colors and a great idea!

    Reply
  18. I love hearing about your process, can’t wait to read some more!

    Reply
  19. I’d love to see what the finished project looks like. It’s an intriguing pile of stash!

    Reply
  20. Interesting idea….just keep doodling 😉

    Reply
  21. I can’t wait to see what you end up with!

    Reply
  22. I like all those fabrics together. It will be interesting to see how you use them.

    Reply
  23. Pretty fabrics, look forward to seeing how it turns out. :o)

    Reply
  24. Beautiful fabrics! I hope inspiration strikes soon!

    Reply
  25. love the fabrics, good luck on your creative journey!

    Reply
  26. Good luck in figuring it out 🙂

    Reply
  27. Can’t wait to see how it shapes up! Thanks for linking up to WIP Wednesday. : )

    Reply
  28. The fabrics are gorgeous! I’m sure you’ll get it to all come together.

    Reply
  29. A rich palette happening there!

    Reply
  30. You can do it. Beautiful fabrics to work with.

    Reply

It's so nice to hear from you!

